How to send booking confirmations and notifications
To reduce no shows and keep your customers in the loop with their bookings, you can turn on SMS and/or email reminders and notifications.
When these are enabled, the customer will be sent a notification when any of the following occurs:
- A new (Confirmed) appointment is added to the calendar.
- A Pending online booking is Confirmed by the business.
- The date and/or start time of an appointment is changed.
- The appointment is cancelled.
Enable customer notifications
To turn on customer notifications:
- Go to Setup > Customer messages in the main menu:
Click Add new message in the top right corner:
- Select the Appointment change option from the list of messages:
Select which message type to send
Select which notification type you'd like to send out of SMS or Email:
You will be able to set up both email and SMS notifications, but they will need to be setup separately.
Set up your SMS notification templates
If you're setting up an SMS notification, you will also be able to set the template for your SMS notifications:
Our How to customise the SMS templates guide steps you through that entire process.
At the moment, it isn't possible to completely customise the content of your email notifications. Check out our How to customise your email messages guide for more information.
You can see an example of an email notification below, which will be automatically populated with the customer and booking information:
Things to Remember
- Normal SMS charges apply for SMS notifications.
- When an appointment is placed on the calendar, or is amended, there is a 10 minute delay by default before the SMS/email notification is sent. This is by design so that further changes made to the appointment within the 10 minute window will not trigger additional notifications.
- SMS notifications, like reminders, will cost 1 credit per message.
- If you change the price, or the service included in the appointment, a notification won't be sent.
- SMS notifications will only be sent within your SMS sending window. This can be viewed/updated under Setup > SMS settings > SMS time restriction.