Your clients can change their own appointments using a link included in their appointment confirmation email or by logging in to the client login. By default, clients will not be able to alter their appointments, so this will need to be enabled first. In this guide, you will learn how to allow clients to manage their own appointments online.
Important note: clients can only reschedule appointments containing a single service or a service group. Appointments containing two or more individual services cannot be changed online.
How to allow clients to change their bookings online
How to prevent clients changing their bookings online
If you don't want customers to be able to change bookings online, then you can turn this feature off. This will allow them to make the initial booking, but they will need to contact the business to cancel or reschedule.
This is the same process as above, however you will uncheck the box next to Include a link in emails for customers to change their booking. You will also then set when appointments can be changed or cancelled to never.
How to allow clients to change their appointment via email
If you have given your client permission to change their bookings online and their booking contains a single service or a service group, a button containing a link will appear at the bottom of their email saying View or change my appointment.
- Selecting change will take them to the online booking page, where they can select a new date and time for their appointment.
- Selecting cancel will take them to the cancellation page, where they can select a cancellation reason and confirm the cancellation.
- The View or change my appointment button will not appear in emails for bookings with two or more services, unless the services have been booked as a service group.
How to allow clients to change their appointment via client login
If you have given your client permission to change their appointments online and they are logged in to client login they will be able to reschedule or cancel their booking. Once have accessed client login and are in the my appointment section they will be able to see all of their upcoming appointments. From here:
- If they choose to reschedule their appointment it will take them to the Online Booking page to select and confirm a new date and time.
- If they choose to cancel their appointment it will take them to the cancellation page, asking them to select a cancellation reason and confirm the cancellation
Timely notes:
Now that this feature is enabled there are some rules that mean your clients will not always be able to alter their appointments. Instead they will get a message to contact the business.
The following rules apply when a client wishes to change or cancel a booking:
- Client appointment changes must be enabled
- The appointment date must be in the future
- The appointment date must be outside the policy period for changes
- Bookings cannot be cancelled if an invoice exists for that appointment, but they can be changed
- Recurring appointments can not be changed by the client