How to restrict staff access
You can update a staff member's access at any time. If they are a new staff member, or haven't been granted access yet then you will need to grant them access to the account first. Our How to give staff access to your account guide steps you through that in more detail.
Once a staff member has been given access, you can further determine what areas of the account they can access.
These are broken up into sections based on the headings in the main Timely menu:
This determines what your staff can see and interact with in the Calendar:
- Choose if a staff member can see their Personal calendar or All calendars.
- You can then determine if they have View only access, or if they are able to add and edit appointments.
- If you work with contractors, or don't want staff to see your prices, then these can be hidden.
- To further protect customer privacy, contact details can be hidden too.
Note: As administrators don't have their own calendars, they will have more limited controls e.g. they can only view All calendars or No calendars.
Choose which Dashboard views the staff member can access and whether this includes just their information, or data for All staff.
- The Business overview which shows sales and productivity performance (Find out more).
- The Staff overview which outlines individual staff performance e.g. Sales, bookings and retention (Find out more).
- The Activity dashboard which shows upcoming appointments, pending appointments and recent history (Find out more).
These settings determine if staff can access the Sales area, or view or raise invoices. This will include the ability to issue, search for and redeem gift vouchers.
If prices are hidden from the staff member (see Calendar section above), then this section will automatically be hidden and staff won't be able to raise or view invoices.
*COMING SOON* If you have Cash up enabled, then you will also see some additional options here. You can allow staff to record petty cash expenses and/or allow them to perform a cash up at the end of the day.
Grants or revokes access to the Customers area and hides customer contact details and related reports.
If you have chosen to hide the customer's contact details (above), then this will automatically be removed.
Check these options to let staff access the Messages area and see outgoing messages, replies or both. If contact details are hidden, staff won't be able to view Messages.
Grants or removes access to different kinds of reports based on report categories:
- Business performance.
- Financial reports.
- Customer reports.
- Staff reports.
These settings control access to the Setup, Promote and Account areas:
- Setup includes anything under the Setup menu i.e. Your business, Sales tools, Notifications and Administration.
- You can choose to give a staff member access to only their Roster to allow them to update their own availability.
- Access to the Promote tab can be given independently, perfect for website developers and designers.
- Giving someone access to the Account tab will allow them to view your billing information, payment history and account invoices. It will also allow them to purchase SMS credits.